Users following an eSOP are free to undo previously completed tasks, replace pictures with new images and re-scan alternative labels. This provides flexibility when a task might have been accidentally completed while handling a tablet, or where simple errors need to be corrected.
However at certain points in a procedure a user may wish to save the progress captured so far and lock it against further changes. This can be achieved at any time, by clicking the Save progress button at the bottom of the eSOP. Save progress will lock any task which has been completed at that time so that it can not be modified any further.
At the end of an eSOP users must Finalize the eSOP by clicking the Finalize button. This locks in the state of all tasks in the eSOP.
Both Save progress and Finalize are electronic signature steps and as required by CFR21 Part 11 the user must re-authenticate by entering their password to effect the change. At this time, any problems detected with the eSOP will be listed a sequence of warnings. In this example, no problems have been detected:
Once an eSOP has been finalized it will appear in the eSOP list with either a green check if all was well, or a yellow triangle if any warnings were triggered when it was followed. This is designed to facilitate a review by exception approach.